Climates: a friendly network where people help each other tackle climate change. Meet new mates, get ideas for simple and effective things to do. Pledge to take action and watch your carbon savings grow.

Forums  ›  General  ›  General discussions

Introductions!

The forums seem quiet thus far so how about some introductions, pretty simple, just where you are from, what you do,  and what you think needs to be done to adapt to, and mitigate the worst of climate change.

About me, I'm in British Columbia, Canada though I'm originally from England. I recently finished up a Geography degree in Calgary so I'm in-between jobs but I'm an aspiring environmental professional - particularly interested in satellite image analysis and digital mapping, though environmental law has caught my interest most recently. 

As for climate change, I could certainly write a lot about it but i do think government regulation is needed and the private sector and individuals need to do their part to get involved whether it's spending differently, using less, voting, chaining yourself to earth-moving equipment... I do think government regulation is certainly a big one, neoliberalism and "leave it to the market" hasn't worked so well for the environment and that needs to be reversed in my opinion. 

I'm actually quite disappointed with the site. I think it's been pitched badly - partly aimed at those of us who are serious about addressing the problem (the kind most likely to sign up) while focusing its effort on the pale greens they want to eat less meat and offset their carbon emissions while retaining their consumerist lifestyles, which isn't going to cut it.

I feel like a lone Deep Green in all this.